Fluid Effects.

For the portal like time machine, I wanted to create some fluid effect to simulate the portal aspect of it. I hadn’t worked with fluid effects much before, other than using Bifrost, and as it is an area I am greatly interested in, I wanted to take this opportunity to develop my skills and also to enhance my final piece.

Here is the tutorial I have been using to help me better understand Fluid Dynamics. In this tutorial he creates a tornado and I have used similar techniques to create my portal effect, sort of like an inverted tornado.

The main issue I have had with these simulations, is the amount of time it takes to simulate when using a high particle count, this is necessary however to make it look more realistic. These effects also have a big impact on the render time, which is why I have allowed myself more time to render in my Gant Charts.

Leave a Reply

